We are pleased to announce the extension of our $200,000 Filmmaker Competition, which is FREE to enter. Submissions will remain open until 11:59 PM EST on October 7th, 2012. All five Jury Prize winners will be announced in January 2013 at the Sundance Film Festival in Park City, Utah.

    “The FOCUS FORWARD program continues to exceed all expectations,” said CINELAN’s Morgan Spurlock in a press release today. “In the last week we’ve seen a huge spike in submissions to our competition coming in from six continents, which is exciting for us and our partners at GE.”

    The competition offers a chance for independent filmmakers to win the Grand Jury Prize of $100,000, among other cash awards—the largest ever offered for a short documentary film. Our esteemed jury includes José Padilha, Barbara Kopple, Daryl Hannah, Caroline Libresco, Peter Wintonick, Joe Berlinger, and Floyd Webb.

    The winning films will be globally distributed as part of FOCUS FORWARD’s “Short Films, Big Ideas” series of 3-minute documentaries by the likes of Fredrik Gertten (The Invisible Bicycle Helmet), Jessica Yu (Meet Mr. Toilet), Lixin Fan (Operation Free Lunch), and many more

    If you have an idea for a short film on an innovative person, idea, or invention that has changed the world, then it’s time to get to work! Click here for more information on how to submit your film today.